By: Eric Hotson – Cabinet Member for Corporate and Democratic Services

John Lynch – Head of Democratic Services

To: County Council – 7 December 2017

Subject: Appointment of Honorary Aldermen

Introduction

(1) At its meeting on 30 April 2009, the County Council resolved to utilise the power contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, to confer the award of Honorary Alderman to recognise the eminent services of some of its distinguished former Members. There is no statutory definition of "eminent services" but the County Council agreed that the award should only be made to former Members who had served at least 12 years and had rendered eminent services in terms of the individual's contribution to the activities of the County Council and the well-being of the County of Kent.

(2) It is proposed that Honorary Aldermen should be invited to attend relevant civic and ceremonial events, including the Annual Meeting of the Council and the Chairman's Civic Reception. The names of those individuals awarded the status of Honorary Alderman will also be included on the wooden honours board in the Council Chamber.

Nominations

(3) The following nominations have been made for this Honorary Award in 2017:

Mr Tom Gates

Mr Mike Harrison

Mr Alex King, MBE

Mr Leyland Ridings, MBE JP

Mr James Scholes

Mr Derek Smyth

Mr Martin Vye

- (4) Appendix 1 to this report sets out some biographical details about each of the nominees.
- (5) Members are reminded that, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the nominees for Honorary Aldermen have to receive the support

of not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a special meeting of the County Council convened for the purpose.

Recommendation

(6) The County Council is invited to consider Mr Tom Gates, Mr Mike Harrison, Mr Alex King MBE, Mr Leyland Ridings MBE JP, Mr James Scholes, Mr Derek Smyth and Mr Martin Vye for the award of Honorary Alderman of Kent County Council, as described.

John Lynch Head of Democratic Services 03000 410466 john.lynch@kent.gov.uk

Mr Tom Gates

Mr Tom Gates was elected to the County Council in May 1993 as the Conservative Member for Faversham. A retired local builder, he served as a town councilor from 1992 and was the Mayor of Faversham from 2001 to 2003.

Mr Gates served as Chairman of the County Council in 2016/17 and during his 24 years with the Council he served on the Communities Cabinet Committee, Faversham Local Engagement Forum, Planning Applications Committee, Regulation Committee and Swale Community Engagement Forums.

Mr Mike Harrison

Mr Mike Harrison was elected to the County Council in November 1997 as the Conservative Member for Whitstable East. He retired from British Airways with the rank of Senior Cabin Service Director. Mr Harrison served as Chairman of the County Council in 2015/16.

He served on the Canterbury Local Board, Environment, Highways & Waste Cabinet Committee, Electoral & Boundary Review Committee, Kent Flood Risk Management Committee, Regulation Committee and Select Committee for Bus Transport and Public Subsidy.

Mr Alex King, MBE

Mr Alex King MBE was elected to the County Council in May 1989 as the Conservative Member for Tunbridge Wells Rural. He had a career as a Management Consultant specialising in Human Resources, General Management and Organisation and Business Development issues. Mr King was Deputy Leader of the County Council from 2005 to 2013.

He served on the East Kent Joint Arrangements Committee, Electoral & Boundary Review Committee, Governance & Audit Committee, Personnel Committee, Policy & Resources Cabinet Committee, Property Sub-Committee, Joint Appointments Committee and Tunbridge Wells Local Board.

Mr Leyland Ridings, MBE JP

Mr Leyland Ridings MBE JP was elected to the County Council in 1997 as the Conservative Member for Sandwich. Born in Australia, served with the Royal Australian Air Force and then trained as a Chartered Accountant. He came to England in 1964 and has lived in East Kent since 1984. Mr Ridings served as Chairman of the County Council in 2006/07.

Mr Ridings has served on the Corporate Parenting Panel, Dover District Neighbourhood Forums, Education and Young People's Services Cabinet Committee, Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee, Kent & Medway NHS Joint Overview & Scrutiny Committee, Kent Flood Risk Management Committee, Policy & Resources Cabinet Committee, Property Sub-Committee, School Organisation Sub-Committee, Scrutiny Committee, Select Committee for Educational Attainment and the Standards Committee.

Mr James Scholes

Mr James Scholes was elected to the County Council in 1993 as the Conservative Member for Tunbridge Wells South. He was a Software House manager with extensive experience in computers and was a member of the Stock Exchange.

Mr Scholes served as a Borough Councillor from 1976 as the Member of Tunbridge Wells Borough Council for the Pantiles and St Mark's Ward. He was the Mayor of Tunbridge Wells in 1991/92 and Leader of the Tunbridge Wells Borough Council from 1998 – 2002.

Mr Scholes served on the Governance & Audit Committee, Kent & Medway Fire Rescue Authority, Scrutiny Committee and was Chairman of the Superannuation Fund Committee.

Mr Derek Smyth

Mr Derek Smyth was elected to the County Council in July 1998 as the Labour Member for Ashford South until 2009 and was re-elected in 2013. He was an Administration Manager, European Division at Courage Ltd.

He served on the Corporate Policy Overview Committee, Governance & Audit Committee, Policy & Resources Cabinet Committee, Policy Overview Co-ordinating Committee, Policy & Resources Cabinet Committee and Property Sub-Committee.

Mr Martin Vye

Mr Martin Vye was elected to the County Council in 1989 as the Liberal Democrat Member for Canterbury City South West. Mr Vye is a retired schoolmaster and housemaster, and a former Major in the Combined Cadet Force. He was a Canterbury City Councillor for Barham Downs Ward from 1995 to 2011 and Lord Mayor of Canterbury in 2004/5.

Mr Vye served on the Children's Social Care & Health Cabinet Committee, Corporate Parenting Panel, East Kent Joint Scrutiny Committee, Education & Young Peoples Services Cabinet Committee, Kent Children's Trust Board, Kent Flood Risk Management Committee, Kent Downs AONB JAC, Select Committee for Commissioning, Select Committee for Grammar Schools and Social Mobility and Southern Regional Flood & Coastal Committee.